Blog 372: Another School Year

So it is that time of year when the children are going back to school, it is time to put the beach towels away, it is time to put the suitcases away, it is time to travel, it is time to go shopping, it is time to get the uniforms out, it is time to think about the term coming up, it is time to sign up for the after school clubs, it is time to get the suits back out, it is time to sort out the washing, it is time to get the food ready, it is time to get the lunch boxes out from storage, it is time to it is time to get the alarm ready, it is time for the days to get shorter, it is time for the summer to wind down, it is time for the winter to come, it is time for the ties to get out the cupboard, it is time for the coats to be bought out, it is time for schedules to be synced up, it is time for another school year.

It is time for another school year and I don’t think I am ready for it, I don’t think I am ready for my husband to go back to school and have the long days, I am not ready for the winter to come! It seems like years that I have been following these rituals-I think since I was 4 years of age. I thought it would stop by now, I thought we wouldn’t be determined by the school year but here I am years later and I have now married a teacher and we are back to the routine. We are back to thinking about all the events coming up, thinking about all the things that need to be done so my husband can have a smooth route back to school. I seemed to have all my life been controlled by the school routine, from being in school, then in college, to a parent who worked in school and now married to a teacher!

Going back to school for some children is hard work, for some children it can be full of anxiety, there can be fear, they can be scared but we all need to go back to school at some point. It is sad that some students feel scared that they are not wanting to go back to school, they do not know what the future will hold, they do not want to have the change of classroom, they do not want to have the change of teachers and sometimes they do not want to have the change of school. The beginning of the school year can be hard and it is at this time that we need to support those children who find it hard to go back to school. Not all children feel fear about September coming round and we need to be aware that for some children it can be full of fear.

When I went back to school I was full of fear and would quite often find the last two weeks of the summer holiday really hard. I found it hard knowing that I would be with different people, I would have to make new friends and the teachers may not understand fully what I was like. School for some students can be a scary place but for some others it can be great fun, there are some people that find it fun to go back to school, they find it fun to be able to see their friends after a long time away, they find it fun to have a new teacher and they find it fun to be in a new classroom. I wish I used to be one of those children but sadly I was not able to because I was full of fear and scared of the year to come.

The beginning of the school year can be hard for other people but it can be easy for other people and so we need to be aware of that. We need to pray for each child that is starting or going back to school this month. We need to pray for those children just starting, those who are taking exams, those who are moving school, those who are leaving home. Each child is different and each child is different and can take things differently and we need to pray that each child knows that God is fully in control. Throughout every year that we go back to school or support someone that is going back to school we need to trust that God will be there with them and with the others at home.

Leave a comment