Blog 363: Love everyday

love everyday

There are certain times of the year when we love someone more than we did the day before. We don’t mean to but it just happens such as their birthday, Christmas, anniversary’s, valentines day etc. Our hearts seem to be filled with more love on these days than we can imagine but sometimes we need to love our partners on other days too not just when they give us gifts and make us feel special. In every relationship their will be days that will be tough, days that are long, days that are a struggle and we need to show love on these days just as on the easy ones. In order to love someone all the time we need to accept them for their flaws, for their annoying habits as well as the love that they show us and we can show them.

When you first get into a relationship it is normal to want to be with that person all day everyday, you ‘love’ them so much that you cannot see yourself doing anything without them. You believe you have found the ‘perfect’ person to spend the rest of your life with and life could not be better. You have a love that seems to be so much bigger than you thought and you have the ideal person and you think that nothing can go wrong. How wrong can you be. There will be a time when this ‘honeymoon’ period is over and the cloud 9 feeling vanishes. This is the time when you either know that it is a genuine kind of love or just something that you want but not with the right person. This time is the time that will either make or break the relationship, the time that you know that this is real or not.

If it is genuine love than it can last for a lifetime no matter how annoying the other person can and will be, you will accept them for their flaws, you will accept their mistakes, you will accept their bad habits however if this is not true love then it will not last very long and things will tend to go downhill. When I first met my husband I knew that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him and I had a overwhelming sense of love for this man but it wasn’t until 3 years later that our paths crossed again and we were able to develop a true, deep and meaningful relationship. The first three years I had the feeling that everyone gets when they first fall in love, I wanted to be with him all the time, I wanted to experience life with him and I wanted him to know that I wanted to be with him. However looking back now I was in love with the idea of being in love and hadn’t become to love him and he didn’t have the same feeling for me.

However when we got together the second time around love was still their and I began to love him more and more and he did to me too. However, as with most relationships there was the honeymoon period and the time when we wanted to be with each other all the time. When that ended I was fearful that he would leave and that I would never be able to see him again but we had a connection that lasted through the honeymoon period and I am so grateful that it did. We have had our ups and downs, our arguments, our hard times, our easy times, the times when we have been close and other times when we have been distant but at the end of it love has taken over it all and we are married. There are times when I don’t feel close to my husband but then there are times when I feel really close. When I feel distant I don’t give up on our relationship but I work harder to be more connected. When I got married I made a commitment to be joined to this man until death takes us and so for as long as I shall live I will do that.

No matter what we go through in life and no matter how we feel there will be someone who loves us. We may feel distant from those people that love us but they have not moved but instead we have. We have become distant in our mind, we have become distant from all things but we should not loose hope. There will be people in our life that come and go but God is stable and He will help us to stay committed to our relationships but also to Him.

Leave a comment